Comparison

fairzeit vs Timely. Both automatic. Only one keeps the recording on your device.

Choose Timely if AI-drafted timesheets matter to you and your team is small: Starter costs ≈ €8.04 ($9) a month, billed yearly, for up to 5 people. Choose fairzeit if the recording of your day should stay on your device rather than in the cloud, if every suggestion should show its reason, and if one plan should fit any team size.

As of 11 October 2026 · Auf Deutsch lesen

Seven things

Lane by lane. fairzeit 7 of 7, Timely 3 of 7.

  1. Tracks automatically in the background

    Like fairzeit, Timely’s Memory app tracks automatically in the background. On this lane they are equal.

    fairzeit
    Yes: In the background, on the Mac (Windows planned)
    Timely
    Yes: Memory app, Windows and Mac
  2. Suggests entries and says why

    Timely drafts timesheets with AI; it doesn’t say whether a draft shows its reason. fairzeit names it for every suggestion.

    fairzeit
    Yes: With the reason; you confirm
    Timely
    Limited: AI drafts; reason not described
  3. Activity local, entries in the EU

    Timely keeps the recording in the cloud, on AWS in Europe. With fairzeit it stays on your device; confirmed entries go to the EU.

    fairzeit
    Yes: Activity stays local; confirmed entries are stored in the EU
    Timely
    Limited: Activity in the cloud, on AWS in Europe
  4. No screenshots, in any plan

    Timely takes no screenshots, and neither does fairzeit.

    fairzeit
    Yes: No setting turns them on
    Timely
    Yes
  5. Cancel monthly

    Timely can be cancelled monthly, and so can fairzeit on monthly billing. No difference.

    fairzeit
    Yes: On monthly billing; the yearly plan at the year’s end
    Timely
    Yes
  6. Everything in one plan, solo or team

    Timely’s Starter plan covers only up to 5 people and 20 projects. fairzeit has one plan for any team size.

    fairzeit
    Yes: Every feature, from one person
    Timely
    No: Starter only up to 5 people
  7. Pay once, with updates

    Timely is subscription only. fairzeit can also be bought once, with every update for as long as fairzeit is offered.

    fairzeit
    Yes: Lifetime from €349; sales open soon
    Timely
    No: Recurring only

Price · October 2026

What Timely costs. And what fairzeit costs.

Timely’s plans
PlanBilled yearlyBilled monthly
StarterMatching planup to 5 people, 20 projects≈ €8.04converted from $9≈ €9.83converted from $11
Premiumup to 50 people; accounting integrations≈ €14.30converted from $16≈ €17.88converted from $20
Unlimited≈ €19.66converted from $22≈ €25.03converted from $28
EnterpriseOn request

Per person per month, VAT not stated. Timely quotes US dollars only; converted here at the ECB reference rate of 13 October 2026 (€1 = $1.1188), rounded. As of 14 October 2026.

fairzeit

Billed yearly
€16
Billed monthly
€20

One plan with every feature, solo or team. Per person per month, excluding VAT.

Lifetime: €349 once per seat, €299 for each further seat, with every update for as long as fairzeit is offered, at least 5 years. Sales open soon.

A year for 1, 5 and 10 people, billed yearly

1 person5 people10 people
fairzeitsubscription, excl. VAT€192€960€1,920
Timely StarterVAT not stated≈ €96.53converted from $108≈ €482.66converted from $540≈ €1,716.12Premiumconverted from $1,920
fairzeit Lifetimeonce, excl. VAT€349€1,545–

Lifetime at the first tier; at most 5 seats per company, larger teams use the subscription. Timely quotes US dollars only; converted here at the ECB reference rate of 13 October 2026 (€1 = $1.1188), rounded.

In fairness

Where Timely is better. What speaks for Timely.

  • AI drafts

    Timely drafts your timesheets with AI, on every plan. fairzeit suggests single entries, without an AI draft.

  • Price for small teams

    Starter costs ≈ €8.04 ($9) a month billed yearly, ≈ €9.83 ($11) billed monthly, for up to 5 people. fairzeit costs €16 or €20.

  • Accounting

    From Premium up, Timely connects to accounting and invoicing tools such as QuickBooks. fairzeit exports files, including one for payroll in DATEV Lohn.

  • Windows

    Timely’s Memory app also runs on Windows. So far fairzeit is for macOS only; Windows is planned.

A draw: both track automatically, take no screenshots, can be cancelled monthly on monthly billing, and both come with a 14-day trial.

Switching

From Timely to fairzeit. Your data comes along.

From Timely
Report as CSV or XLSCSV · XLS
fairzeit takes over
Time entries, clients, projects, tasks and tags
Hourly rates
Not taken over; you enter them yourself.

In Timely, pick the report at the level of single time entries. Then each entry arrives on its own, not as a total.

How switching works

Questions

Questions about Timely and fairzeit

Can I bring my Timely data with me?

Yes. In Timely, export the report as CSV or XLS and load it into fairzeit. fairzeit takes over the time entries, clients, projects, tasks and tags. fairzeit doesn’t take hourly rates from Timely; you enter them yourself.

Is fairzeit cheaper than Timely?

Not for small teams: Starter costs ≈ €8.04 ($9) a month, billed yearly, for up to 5 people. Above that you need Premium at ≈ €14.30 ($16). Timely quotes US dollars and doesn’t say whether VAT is included; fairzeit costs €16 excluding VAT, the same for any team size.

Does my activity really stay on my device with fairzeit?

Yes. Activity, window titles, URLs and paths never leave your Mac. What goes to the EU is the confirmed entries of your linked projects, plus customer and project names when an owner or admin hands them over. Timely’s Memory data, by contrast, lives on AWS servers in Europe.

Does fairzeit write my timesheets with AI like Timely?

No. fairzeit suggests entries and names the reason: the app, the window title, the website or one of your rules, calendar events included. It doesn’t draft a whole timesheet with AI the way Timely does.

How long can I try it?

Timely for 14 days, fairzeit for 14. After that, fairzeit gives you 30 days to get your first charge back: 44 days risk-free in all.

Your recording stays with you.

44 days risk-free: 14 days to try, then 30 days to get your first charge back. How it works