Comparison
fairzeit vs Toggl. A timeline, or entries ready to confirm.
Choose Toggl if your team has up to 3 people and wants to track for free, if you need lots of integrations, or if you want a cheaper start: Starter costs ≈ €8.04 ($9) a month, billed yearly. Choose fairzeit if you’d rather confirm entries that are suggested to you, with a reason, than build them from a timeline yourself, and if your entries should be stored in the EU, not the US.
Seven things
Lane by lane. fairzeit 7 of 7, Toggl 2 of 7.
-
Tracks automatically in the background
Toggl records your activity on a timeline; you build the entries from it yourself. fairzeit turns it into suggestions you only confirm.
- fairzeit
- Yes: In the background, on the Mac (Windows planned)
- Toggl
- Limited: Timeline; you create the entries
-
Suggests entries and says why
Toggl gives keyword hints. fairzeit suggests the project and tells you the reason, such as the window title or one of your rules, calendar events included.
- fairzeit
- Yes: With the reason; you confirm
- Toggl
- Limited: Keyword hints
-
Activity local, entries in the EU
Toggl’s timeline stays local, but your entries live on Toggl’s servers in the US. With fairzeit confirmed entries go to the EU.
- fairzeit
- Yes: Activity stays local; confirmed entries are stored in the EU
- Toggl
- Limited: Local; entries on servers in the US
-
No screenshots, in any plan
Toggl takes no screenshots, and neither does fairzeit.
- fairzeit
- Yes: No setting turns them on
- Toggl
- Yes
-
Cancel monthly
Toggl can be cancelled monthly, and so can fairzeit on monthly billing. No difference.
- fairzeit
- Yes: On monthly billing; the yearly plan at the year’s end
- Toggl
- Yes
-
Everything in one plan, solo or team
Toggl’s billable rates start at Starter. fairzeit has one plan with every feature in it.
- fairzeit
- Yes: Every feature, from one person
- Toggl
- No: Billable rates only from Starter
-
Pay once, with updates
Toggl is subscription only. fairzeit can also be bought once, with every update for as long as fairzeit is offered.
- fairzeit
- Yes: Lifetime from €349; sales open soon
- Toggl
- No: Recurring only
Price · October 2026
What Toggl costs. And what fairzeit costs.
| Plan | Billed yearly | Billed monthly |
|---|---|---|
| Freeup to 3 people, no billable rates | Free | |
| StarterMatching planwith billable rates | ≈ €8.04converted from $9 | ≈ €10.73converted from $12 |
| Premiumwith timesheet approvals | ≈ €14.30converted from $16 | ≈ €21.45converted from $24 |
| Enterprise | On request | |
Per person per month, VAT not stated. Toggl quotes US dollars only; converted here at the ECB reference rate of 13 October 2026 (€1 = $1.1188), rounded. As of 14 October 2026.
fairzeit
- Billed yearly
- €16
- Billed monthly
- €20
One plan with every feature, solo or team. Per person per month, excluding VAT.
Lifetime: €349 once per seat, €299 for each further seat, with every update for as long as fairzeit is offered, at least 5 years. Sales open soon.
A year for 1, 5 and 10 people, billed yearly
| 1 person | 5 people | 10 people | |
|---|---|---|---|
| fairzeitsubscription, excl. VAT | €192 | €960 | €1,920 |
| Toggl StarterVAT not stated | ≈ €96.53converted from $108 | ≈ €482.66converted from $540 | ≈ €965.32converted from $1,080 |
| fairzeit Lifetimeonce, excl. VAT | €349 | €1,545 | – |
Lifetime at the first tier; at most 5 seats per company, larger teams use the subscription. Toggl quotes US dollars only; converted here at the ECB reference rate of 13 October 2026 (€1 = $1.1188), rounded.
In fairness
Where Toggl is better. What speaks for Toggl.
Free plan
Toggl is free for up to 3 people, timeline included. fairzeit has no free plan, just a 14-day trial.
Price
Starter costs ≈ €8.04 ($9) a month billed yearly, ≈ €10.73 ($12) billed monthly. fairzeit costs €16 or €20.
Approvals
On Premium, Toggl lets managers approve timesheets. fairzeit has no approvals.
Longer trial
Toggl’s paid plans come with a 30-day trial, fairzeit with 14 days.
Windows, mobile and integrations
Toggl also runs on Windows and on phones, and has more integrations, an MCP server and an AI assistant for tasks. So far fairzeit is for macOS only; Windows is planned.
A draw: neither takes screenshots, and on monthly billing both can be cancelled monthly.
Switching
From Toggl to fairzeit. Your data comes along.
- From Toggl
Detailed report as CSV (Reports ▸ Detailed ▸ CSV)CSV- fairzeit takes over
- Time entries, projects, clients and tags
- Hourly rates
- Not taken over; you enter them yourself.
Toggl’s workspace export holds no time entries, so it won’t do here. The entries are in the detailed report.
How switching worksQuestions
Questions about Toggl and fairzeit
Can I bring my Toggl data with me?
Yes. Load the detailed report as CSV (Reports ▸ Detailed ▸ CSV) into fairzeit. fairzeit takes over the time entries, projects, clients and tags. fairzeit doesn’t take hourly rates from Toggl; you enter them yourself.
Is fairzeit cheaper than Toggl?
No. Toggl is free for up to 3 people, and Starter costs ≈ €8.04 ($9) a month, billed yearly; fairzeit costs €16 excluding VAT. Toggl quotes US dollars and doesn’t say whether VAT is included. With fairzeit you pay for suggestions with a reason instead of a timeline, and for storage in the EU.
How is Toggl’s timeline different from fairzeit’s suggestions?
Toggl’s timeline shows which apps and sites were open; you build the entries from it yourself. fairzeit turns the recording into finished entries with a project and a reason. You confirm with one key, or correct them.
Where is my data stored?
Toggl uses Google Cloud in Iowa, USA. With fairzeit the recording stays on your device; confirmed entries are stored in the EU.
Is there a free version of fairzeit?
No, just a 14-day trial. After that you have 30 days to get your first charge back, 44 days risk-free in all. If you want to track at no cost at all, Toggl’s free plan suits you better.
Confirm, don’t build.
44 days risk-free: 14 days to try, then 30 days to get your first charge back. How it works